The SADC Market – How Does It work?

The SADC Free Trade Area was formally launched on 17 August 2008. The implementation of the SADC Trade Protocol started in the year 2000 with the gradual elimination of customs duties on 85% of tariff lines by 2008. For Mauritius, tariffs on the remaining 'sensitive products' were completely eliminated in January 2014.

SADC Member States on the FTA

  • Republic of Botswana
  • Kingdom of Lesotho
  • Kingdom of Swaziland
  • Republic of Madagascar
  • Republic of Malawi
  • Republic of Mauritius
  • Republic of Mozambique
  • Republic of Namibia
  • Republic of South Africa
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Republic of Zambia
  • Republic of Zimbabwe

Besides, Angola, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and Seychelles have yet to join the SADC FTA. Therefore, these 3 countries do not offer any tariff reductions under SADC.